Call for entries: 2011 Imvelo Responsible Tourism Awards

The 2011 Imvelo Responsible Tourism Awards are now open for entries. Imvelo is the premiere Responsible Tourism award for the African hospitality and tourism industries, recognising businesses that implement sustained responsible tourism programmes. They are organised by the Federated Hospitality Association of Southern Africa (FEDHASA) in conjunction with the Department of Tourism, Absa Bank, the Department of Water Affairs, the Industrial Development Corporation, Eskom and Don’t Waste Services. 2011 is the 10th year the awards are being offered. 

In 2010, Cape Town was honoured with 3 of the 12 Imvelo Award winners. 

Awards are offered in the following categories:

  • Best Social Involvement Programme
  • Best Practice – Economic Impact
  • Best Overall Environmental Management System
  • Best Single Resource Management Programme (Three awards: water, energy and waste management)
  • Most empowered tourism business
  • Investor in people award
  • Chairman’s Award

They are open to any type of tourism or hospitality business in Africa.

Entries are due by 31 August, and winners will be announced on 9 November, which is World Responsible Tourism Day. 

The awards are in line with the Responsible Tourism guidelines for the South African hospitality industry and the UN World Tourism Organisation’s code of ethics. Imvelo is supported by the Heritage Environmental Rating Programme.